Travel inspiration through reading…

image

Name a book that inspired you to travel to the setting location….

This morning I read a great blog post by Rachael Johns who travelled to Bent, Oregon, USA, to research a novel series she’s working on. She asked followers to tell her about a book that inspired the travel bug… Here’s my response to her, which I’m hoping will win me a copy of one of her books!

I’m delighted to share my book of travel inspiration – yet to be realised mind you. At the age of 10, just before WW2, Gerald Durrell and his crazy family went to live on the Greek Isle of Corfu. They spent five years there and had wonderful and curious relationships with the locals. Gerald, born to be a Naturalist, would spend his days avoiding the family, by going off on nature and wildlife adventures in a little row boat to drop into villages along the shores and head up into the hills. He had the most wonderful encounters with local olive and grape growers and fishing families, all adoring his visits, some providing a second home for the lucky boy, plying him with all kinds of food and treats. So, “My Family and Other Animals” captured my heart and mind from about the same age Gerald was while in Greece and Corfu – around 12. It fostered my love of books, animals, other cultures and places far far away…. Jay xxx

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4492629-my-family-and-other-animals?ac=1&from_search=true

4 thoughts on “Travel inspiration through reading…

    • How exciting. I hope to catch up with you at the Conference and find out more. I’m looking for a solo travel destination after suffering the loss of my dad and my sister in May and June. Time to take stock and smell the roses (or daphne in your case)!

      Like

    • Must check it out. I think I saw something years ago, perhaps a series… But I mustn’t have liked it if I don’t remember… Please order me a copy of the library has one. It’s funny how something like this can spring back to life so vividly with such a simple prompt.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

